More Gingerbread Cookies

 

more-gingerbread-cookies
Warm and spicy cookies with sweet icing and Christmas sprinkles

On a cold snowy day, there is nothing more warm and inviting than a plate full of gingerbread cookies! I took a photo of these delicious cookies back over Christmas break for an assignment in photography. Setting up the still life for the photo was simple.  I started off with a package of gingerbread cookies I bought from our local store. I placed the cookies in a neat pile on my mom’s nice Christmas plates. Then, I used my bright desk lamp for lighting. By switching my camera to a close-up setting combined with zooming in on the cookies, I was able to create a focus on one cookie while blurring the others out. What I like most about this close up is how it really shows off the one cookie’s texture. It’s almost as if the photo is reaching out and saying “let’s go eat cookies”.  For me, this was a fun project to do for my photography class.

Leave a comment